jump to navigation

Jump, Jive and Blog! February 1, 2011

Posted by osujazzman in Uncategorized.
trackback

Well, I’d like to welcome everyone to this experiment in blogging. My name is Ryan Bergman and I’ll be your tour guide on this crazy trip through Jazz’s past, present, and future.

The focus of this blog is to discuss the shape of jazz’s future. 52 years ago Ornette Coleman released “The Shape of Jazz To Come” and became the pioneer of the free jazz movement. But now in 2011 we have come no closer to the realization of what that shape will be. I hope to look at the upcoming artists, the new releases and the forms and styles that those who look to shepherd this music through the 21st century are using and how they reflect on jazz’s past and show the way for it’s future.

As someone who performs the music while learning the history and getting my own thoughts, I am wondering how jazz will exist as I enter the prime years of my life.

The simple truth is that jazz isn’t dead but there is little doubt in my mind that jazz is evolving into something else, a combination of art forms. It has been said that change is good and I think for any form of music this is true.

The ultimate improvisation art form has continued to change over the years and will no doubt change in the future and for that we should all be thankful.

~Ryan Bergman

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

